To beach or not to beach, that is the question. 

Faithwriters.com challenge entry – Advanced level 3rd place – 15 June 2017 – Topic:Relax

Lying under a parasol on a sun-drenched beach with a good book in hand is not relaxing, according to
my wife. For me, it’s a welcome opportunity to immerse myself in another world free of demands and
responsibilities. After an hour, she wants to browse the local market, visit an ancient house or drive into
the mountains. Perhaps she has a point. After all, holidays in the sun only occupy a small part of the year.
The rest of the time we must find other ways to escape the pressures of daily life.

The Jewish Sabbath was intended as a gift, to break the drudgery of work, to allow space for family and to
demonstrate trust in God. Jesus went further, offering his followers an opportunity for rest (or at least a
measure of ease) within work:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and
learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is
easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30 NIVUK)

So while I dream of lying in the son with the latest mystery novel, I’ll try trusting in the Son who can
offer me a more relaxed way to go about my daily work. 

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

If this article made you think, please leave a reply

