Getting back on the road

It’s been a while since I posted anything on here. In part, it’s because I got busy with work in Berwick Corps, in part because of helping my wife Elizabeth with putting together her dissertation, and in part because we moved to Livingston. I am now based in an office, and mostly work during the day, so I vowed that I would get back to writing – and I have.

Several years ago I joined the online community Faith Writers (site) but didn’t participate very much. However, earlier this year a challenge came in by email – upgrade to Platinum membership and improve your writing in six months or get your money back. Part of the deal was to enter the weekly writing contest. You can read the most recent entries here. Each week a subject is published and a deadline given for submssion. The work is graded by experienced writers and awards given. My entries have been erratic – I think out of the ten weeks of challenges in the last quarter I entered six. However, out of those six entries I got 2nd place, 3rd place and two Highly Commended. Since I usually write in a rush and don’t take much time to edit, I’m pleased with the results.

I may also request detailed reports on two entries each quarter and (if I took the time) could participate in the Critique Circle where members can give and received feedback.

In order to keep this blog alive, I’m going to post my entries after they have been judged. I’ll start with the first and put in two a week until I am up to date. On the three weeks each quarter when there is no challenge, I’ll try to write something creative.

I’m back on the road to writing and I hope you enjoy the journey.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.