More about me

So here I am again at Penyard House for part 2 of Becoming a Better Leader. The members of the group are the same, but our relationships have subtly changed. In part that is because we do not meet as strangers. We have been through a series of tasks that tested and refined us. We have also (consciously or unconsciously) put into practice some of the things we learned last time. And I have the added advantage of the recent coaching course.

But the main reason seems to be that we are more comfortable being ourselves in the midst of a group. The level of conflict has dropped as we learn to give way to others who are better equipped for the specific tasks, and feel more able to speak when we have something positive to say. We even managed to break the record for completion of a complex task.

The Myers Briggs Type Indicator has also helped some of us see more clearly our strengths and how we fit into a bigger picture.

It there is a sad element in this picture it is that we should need to come on a course to be affirmed. Surely, if we are living out Jesus’ command to love one another, and modeling the body of Christ as described by Paul, then we should feel affirmed within our churches.

Anyway, the key challenge for me will be to put into practice what I have learned when I return to my appointment. God help me to do that which he has given me to do and leave the rest to those better equipped.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.