New habits

Thought for the Week, Berwick Advertiser, Thursday 15th January 2013

This New Year my on-line Todo list added a section for Habits. I can select a predefined habit– such as Exercise, Happiness and Being kind – or define my own (I added Trombone Practice). I then log each habit as I practice it and the program will track my progress. It will even prompt me if I miss a day. This tool could prove really helpful!

But if you’re like me, the biggest battle is picking up a dropped habit. If I can’t even find 20 minutes every couple of days to play the trombone when life is running smoothly, what’s the point of struggling when things get really busy?

Maybe I’m looking at this the wrong way. Recently I’ve noticed a new slogan making the rounds: “Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 day book. Write a good one.” Sometimes we are so hard on ourselves that we see no possibility of escaping our failures. This gem from Brad Paisley reminds us we can always start again tomorrow.

In the middle of his “Lamentations”, the prophet Jeremiah made a similar discovery: “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22-23)God has every right to hold us accountable for our wrongdoing. But he is willing to give us a chance at a new start. This year, let’s resolve to take one day at a time, even if it means starting afresh tomorrow.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Articles, Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.