Don’t D-I-Y!

Thought for the week for Berwick Advertiser by Major Steven Turner, 12 April 2014

Cartoon of a man with a speck and a man with a plank in his eye with the text I know I should give up, but I keep trying. I should leave it to the experts, but I try to Do It Myself. The lock on our front door is stiff. This morning, a visitor didn’t shut it firmly and the door blew open. So I bought a new lock the same (standard) size as the old one, (almost) the same shape with (more or less) the same fixings.

After two hours with my rechargeable drill/driver I had to admit defeat. I couldn’t make the outer and inner parts of the lock meet each other. So I put the old one back. I think they should call it D-I-M, because that’s how I usually feel. I just can’t Do It Myself.

We’ve all yelled at the footballers on the telly. But armchair sports fans would not fare so well in the manager’s job. Most of us are better at correcting others than at sorting our own lives out. But Jesus challenged his listeners: “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” (Matthew 7:3 NIV)

God will hold us each accountable for our actions. Jesus’ death on the cross bought forgiveness for all our wrongdoing – something we couldn’t do for ourselves.

Instead of trying to Do It Myself, I’ll stick to what I know, and phone the expert to Do It For Me! And I’ll also remember: Jesus the expert on life is only a prayer away.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.