Our littlest big test?

It is good for us that we sometimes experience little annoyances and thwartings; such experiences bring a man back within himslef, so that he can realise he is in exile and withdraw from anything on earth. It is good that men sometimes speak against us and make malicious criticisms, even when our actions and intentions are fair. This is often helpful towards humility and protects us from empty boasting. Thomas à Kempis The Imitation of Christ translated by Robert Dudley.

I absolutely agree. I struggle more with the silly little things that people say than with the big questions of life and faith. Over the past few years I have seen and experienced a great deal of pain and confusion. Yet I am confident that God is good. That doesn’t mean no questions arise over troubling events or apparently unfair suffering – only that these are not sufficient to make me distrust God.

But if I believe in Him, I do not always rely on Him. All to easily I become irritated and even angry at small things that people say or do: untidiness, thoughtless words, immature attitudes. And perhaps I am more annoyed than is reasonable or Godly because I know that I also say and do thoughtless things.

God give us the strength to be kind and gracious to others whatever happens to us.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.