It’s not about me…

We brought in the New Year last night at the house of some friends. A small group of us gathered to share supper followed by a time of reflection and prayer surrounding midnight.

One of our party referred to Matthew 11:30. He explained that an easy yolk was well-fitting. This I already knew. But he then used the phrase “made-to-measure”. This came as quite a challenge. During the past year(s) I’ve moaned about a lot of things. But this came as a reminder that if I’m working in parallel with Jesus, they are all part of the plan to bless others and build my character.

Someone else offered another another challenging reading. Ephesians 2:10 reminds us that our primary purpose is to do good deeds. Again during this past year I’ve sometimes resented doing things for others, especially if they are not appreciated.

But life is not about me. In this New Year I need to concentrate on sticking close to God and doing the things He gives me to do. The burden is his, as is the outcome.

Steven — Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.