Rainy day in the Lake District

Walking in The Lakes with our friends John & Pauline seems to be quite eventful. Four years ago we encountered a field of mad cows near Caldbeck.

Today we walked Cat's Bells near Keswick. There is a steep climb up from the car park to what looks like the summit. Once over the crest there is another summit. This requires another steep climb and a bit of a scramble, but it's nothing compared to the ultimate summit (pictured above). There's a climb of about 20 over a seemingly vertical rock face. I admit to being very scared and freezing at one point. But I made it!

We got to the top before the rain came. A short heavy shower seemed to be all we would encounter. We set off down the hill, a very steep zigzag path of large stones. Soon after starting down the slope the rain started and lasted for a long time (I didn't stop to check my watch). We were walking down a little brown river.

The rain stopped and we began to dry out. Unfortunately a glance down to Derwent Water showed an advancing rain front. Five minutes later we were soaked to the skin! The drive home was very unpleasant but I'm warm & dry now.

Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.