The folly of preaching

Lately I have found preaching a real struggle. This is something that happens to me from time to time. Speaking to a congregation composed largely of long-standing (or should that be long-sitting) Salvationists, I wonder if I am simply repeating messages they have heard many times before. There is also the risk of repeating my favourite themes yet again.

To avoid these problems as much as possible, Elizabeth and I alternate our preaching, and we either work through a Bible book, or plan a series on a theme. On Sunday evenings we are taking themes from the SA doctrines. Next Sunday I have "Creator God". It seemed like a good idea at the time. However, reading the new Handbook of Doctrine has left me floundering, not because the material is no good, but because one chapter covers so many areas.

My problem now is that in 15-20 minutes I can't cover a fraction of it in any detail, and I don't know what would be most helpful to our people.

Perhaps time to pray and reflect, and do something outdoors for a while.

What a mighty God we serve!

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.