¡Hola me amigos!

¿Cómo estás?

I’ve started Spanish lessons at the (fairly) local college – and already discovered half-a-dozen words that I have been pronouncing incorrectly. Our teacher is a slim Mediterranean beauty called Be. (Only her mother calls her Beronika!) We are a mixed bunch of English and Scots from students to Retireds.

Our "getting to know you" session was interrupted by the fire alarm. So after just ten minutes and with no Spanish we were back at the car park.

The first lesson was quite intense with lots of pronunciation as well as the five introductory questions.
I was getting a good ‘ch’ sound (as in loch) for the Spanish ‘j’ and Be group me with the Scottish guys until she asked me:

¿de dondé eres?

And I had to answer "Soy de Ingleterra"!

Next week we learn numbers, colours & days of the week. Then hopefully get some useful sentences!

Until then: hasta luego; cuidate.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.