Reflections on mini-CLAN Borders

I’m on my way to Southend andremembered my promise to comment on mini-CLAN.

Most people I have spoken to thought it was a success. Certainly the ministers involved were pleased with the response.

For me, the highlight was Kenny Borthwick preaching. He is the Church of Scotland minister in Westerhailes, a tough part of Edinburgh. When he talks of the kingdom of God, he speaks from experience. He has seen God work powerfully in people’s lives – both "spiritually" and with signs & wonders.

But the most powerful message was Saturday evening. He warned that we don’t get to heaven by looking good – that’s legalism. Nor simply by being good – piety. When the Spirit makes us holy it must show in our love for others. Signs & wonders have their place but giving someone food or a listening ear is more important.

It’s such a blessing and encouragement to see these CLAN guys emphasising foundations of faith whilst encouraging boldness in the Spirit.
(don’t know if I explained that very well!?)

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.