Refreshing the Thirst?

(Originally written in journal 23/08/07 09:28)

Sat in Belmont garage in Selkirk waiting for my car. Rattle recently resurfaced and they are investigating. Been trying to write something for Bill’s funeral but mind is a blank.

Been reading “Inside Out” by Larry Crabb. He says we avoid facing our deep pain, but in the process fail to experience the power of God’s love. I certainly think I’ve moved into avoidance. I don’t really like to hear about other people’s problems because I am overloaded with my own. I think my problem is failure to confess.

Early in our stay in Harlow we went to London to hear David Wilkerson. He challenged pastors to get intimate with God. I remember he talked about how Moses had to leave the people at the bottom of the mountain, and the leaders halfway up. They were not prepared to face the glory of God. Wilkerson said we needed to be desperate in order to experience a real encounter with God.

Lead me higher up the mountain
Give me fellowship with thee
In the light I see the fountain
And the blood now cleanses me.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.