It’s not about me – honest!

I'm reading the chapter "Marriage and family counseling" by Ronald E Hawkins in Totally Sufficient edited by Ed Hinson & Howard Eyrich. His diagnosis of the main problem in most marriages is selfishness coupled with an unwillingness to repent or forgive. Reading his comments I wonder if I am selfish. He talks of the need to serve your spouse. Recalling the bondservant of Exodus 21, he notes that the man submits not for personal gain but out of love and respect for his master and his family.

I have recently begun to question the frequent use of the word "comfortable" in relation to Christian life and worship. It even cropped up in the Transitioning Church seminar. Surely we should be placing obedience to God and service to others above our own comfort?

Yet I am painfully aware how difficult I find it to live out this ideal. Last Saturday I was eating my sandwiches in the shadow of Westminster Cathedral prior to attending Commissioning. A scruffy looking man appeared in the square dragging a couple of battered bags with him. My immediate desire was to hide, as my Salvation Army uniform made me an obvious target in the search for assistance. How far I have come from William Booth's cry of "others!" or indeed my covenant to seek their salvation.

Lord, help me live for you and others, rather than my own comfort.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.