Isolation

Our electricity has gone off tonight for the second time in as many weeks.
Last time the blackout covered a large section of hawick – tonight it's
only our street.

I remember the sense of shared suffering – or more honestly a sense of
annoyance and inconvenience. Tonight, gazing out on the neighbouring streets
with lighted windows and glaring streetlights I feel a sense of isolation.

I wonder why, when we crave support in our suffering do we not seek
assistance within the church? For some it's the last place to expect
compassion. But shouldn't it be the first?

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.