Motivation

How readily we ascribe to truth, then find ways to deny it when it proves inconvenient. I’m currently reading Totally Sufficient, a series of essays on biblical counselling. The premise of the book is that the Bible is sufficient to address all problems of the human condition, including those we would describe as psychological or emotional. Our greatest need is a relationship with God, which has been marred by sin. We need Jesus to save us and the Holy Spirit to remake us in his likeness. According to the contributors, much that passes for Christian counselling today has absorbed secular teachings that seeks solutions without mentioning God.

I have “always” (at least often) believed that the Bible is sufficient. But like many others, I do not always like what it says: that I need to confess that I do wrong, and accept responsibility for my sinful actions, in order to put right my problems. How soon after preaching on a Sunday do I find myself making excuses, or blaming someone else for my current state of mind or the problems in the corps.

Lord, help me to be honest with myself and with you. May I stop trying to lay the blame on others, and simply surrender my desires to you, moment by moment.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.