Why am I an officer?

It used to be called “The longest, hardest, most satisfying job in The Salvation Army.” I think it’s probably still true. There are days when being an officer feels like being the toilet cleaner in a school where messing the toilets is the pupils’ favourite pastime. It seems that everyone you encounter wants to offload a problem, make a complaint, or demand some action.

On other days, it is a great privilege as you help people grow in faith, or even introduce them to the Saviour for the first time. Nothing beats the feeling when someone whose life is a mess finally decides to turn it over to Jesus. There’s always a change, sometimes small, sometimes dramatic.

In between, there are many days when nothing dramatic happens. If you handle them well, someone benefits. If not, you may be frustrated and need to bring the whole thing to God. What keeps me going? Sometimes it is only the knowledge that God has called me to be an officer and appointed me through The Salvation Army to Hawick. Other times, it’s recognising that some people are looking to me to help them on their Christian journey. But the best is when I’m so captivated by the Gospel and the love of God for sinful man, that I can’t help talk about it.

That’s how Paul felt when writing 2 Corinthians 5&6. “Christ’s love compels us…” furthermore: “All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation”. Hence we have both a duty and a privilege of sharing this ministry with Christ

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.