Here we go again

I’ve been awake since 3:30 this morning. So many things going round in my head. Major Mell Jones once told me I had analysis paralysis!

Commitment Sunday looms this weekend. I often struggle with calling people to commitment — not because I don’t believe in it, but because I often wonder about my own. It’s back to earlier entry “What’s my motivation?”
Last Sunday I had a stab at vision casting. In the morning Lt. Col Bill Cochrane led the annual Borders Regional New Year meeting. Folk from Selkirk, Berwick, Lockerbie, Dumfries and Kirkconnell came to Hawick. He challenged us to be Christ to the people in our communities.

After a shared lunch, I spoke to about 20 of our soldiers about our current situation and the future. Based around the parable of the talents, I chose the theme “Make the most of what you have.” I reminded them that God gives us responsibilities and resources according to what we can do, then expects us to use them. In particular, I talked about communications: contact through prayer, newsletter, a potential tape ministry, developing the website The Army provides for us. None requiring the public “performance” that our elderly and somewhat disabled men are worried about. Later I worried that none of this seemed like dynamic, life-changing evangelism.

The old fears returned in the night of preaching transformation and failing to live it or deliver it. Yet I guess I should follow my own advice of “Do something small rather than nothing at all.”
About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.