All Written Out

In amongst all the morbidness I descend into regularly, I forgot to say “I completed my writing course.”

My final assignment went in on time on 1st January 2007, although I must admit to sending the last four assignments in quick succession over 10 days. The surprise outcome of the course is that I am actually better at fiction than fact.

Not that I lie of course 😉 but that I seem to have a fertile imagination that brings scenes to life. In contrast, I write factual articles to show what I know rather than tell the reader what he wants to know.

Anyway, I have a brief outline, some character sketches and a few scenes for a novel. I aim to have it written by the autumn, although this time next year may be more realistic.

As a reward, I promised I’d buy myself a PDA. The excuse is that I keep losing my diary, and never have it handy to write down the things people tell me. A PDA is small enough to carry everywhere.

In addition, I can carry e-books to read in idle moments, and also keep working on my book. Then again, maybe it’s just another gadget that will lose its excitement. Only time will tell.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.