What’s my motivation?

I’m reading Bill Hybel’s Just Walk Across the Room. His main technique for evangelism is to listen to the Holy Spirit, and say what he is prompted to say. Hybel’s motivation for sharing his faith is to cross the line into heaven with as many people at each elbow as he can possibly take with him.

Why is this not my motivation? I believe that God can and does transform lives. I am frustrated by the way so many Salvationists (and probably other Christians) get tied up in discussions about the mechanics of our movement.

The conversation in our corps so often features the statement, “we can’t do what we used to.” But surely we can all speak up for God and lead point our friends, neighbours and acquaintances to Christ.

Perhaps I am more afraid that people will challenge me about my less then perfect life. Perhaps I’m afraid that they won’t like the songs we sing. Perhaps I’m worried that their lives won’t be changed quite as dramatically as I’d like them to be. Perhaps I’m thinking more of me than of Jesus. Perhaps I need to let go of myself so God can have all of me.

Some years ago, shortly after entering the Training College, Carol Bailey led sessional prayers. She placed Post-It(R) notes around the room and asked us to pick the one God highlighted. I kept coming back to Matthew 16:25

For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.

Every so often this comes back to pester me. It’s really the whole secret of following Jesus. And perhaps until I submit on this one, I’ll be more concerned with what people think of me, than of whether they know Jesus.
About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.