Hello Again!

We are now safely lodged in Hawick, and loving it. The scenery is great, the people are friendly and we are looking forward to what God wants us to do.

Our corps is an old one in several ways. Founded in 1886, it’s no. 64 on the register in the UK territory. Because it’s in the Scottish Borders, the response to lots of things is, “It’s aye been.” The average age of our congregation is probably around 70 years, and many have physical ailments that hinder their activities. Over the years, the corps has become settled in its ways.

All of these things have led me to fret about how to lead the people forwards. We have a sense that the corps and the Army are expecting great things of us. I keep reminding them, it’s God who does the great things when WE ALL do the ordinary things.

Two things I’ve read recently urge me to cultivate inner peace regardless of what’s going on around. Although I must lead the people, I cannot control what they (or God) will do. Nor will we complete most of the things we start. I must do my bit, and let God do the rest.

Paul planted, Apollos watered, but God made the seed grow.

Easy to say, but not easy to do. I like answers, not questions. I like to arrive more than I enjoy the journey. I guess I have to learn to live the tension of the journey, whilst striving for the destination.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello Again!

  1. Chris says:

    Hi Steven, just wanted to say thanks for sending us that mobile phone… every little helps and the phone gathering is generating much needed income for the corps.Thanks again.

Comments are closed.