What a difference?

Retreat was good. Challenging teaching and discussion with Dean Pallant, challenging conversations with friends. Helpful reflective sessions. But if I’m honest, probably this year had less impact on me than others.

Is this a bad thing? I don’t know. My biggest handicap is a fear of failure. I enjoy events, but if there is not big change following them I get down and depressed. Of course, being off sweet things for Lent doesn’t help – I get crabby and weary.

On the other hand, when I put aside my fears, I find I pray with confidence and a sense of connection with God. Friends even describe me as a Prayer Warrior. How I wish that were always true.

The issue is simple – the only way any of us is different to those around us is in our surrender to Jesus Christ in all things.

One day, I’ll get there.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.