After the bomb

A week ago today, four bombs exploded on tube trains and a bus in London, shattering the lives of hundreds of people, and the uneasy peace of Britain’s capital city. Brave words – which I echo inside – have been spoken by great and small, about how we must go on and not give in to the terrorists.

But today I go on mortuary duty – meeting with families who have come to see the remains of their loved ones. Brave words will not suffice here. Only God’s love in human form. And I’m not sure I’m up for it.

A year ago, I attended an information day on the Army’s role in a “mass fatality” incident. I offered my services, believing God had a use for me. Now comes the test – and it may require me to be uncharacteristically silent.

O God, let me say the words that point to you, and keep the rest inside, or at least away from the families. And may they find one day the strength in you to go on despite the bombers.

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.