The real me…

Just glanced at Maggi Dawn’s blog (via UrbanArmy) and found an interesting poem. Here’s one I prepared earlier:

What would I be, O Holy Lord
If I were what you made me?
A plaster saint? a white-washed tomb?
I don’t think that could be
What you desire, for I am sure
You want reality.

What would I be, O Glorious Lord
If I were what you made me?
A superstar, with gleaming car,
Adorned for all to see?
I don’t think so! I’m sure I know
You want reality.

What would I be, O Mighty Lord
If I were what you made me?
A warrior bold, as knight of old,
Pursuing his fair lady?
That can’t be right. Without a fight
You want reality.

What would I be, O Gracious Lord
If I were what you made me?
A heart on fire with a desire
To live in purity;
To know your will and share your love.
That’s my reality.

Steven Turner
1 January 2005

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.