What is really important?

It’s a sad fact that we neglect the things in life that are really important.

Tonight there was a prayer party at Romford, convened especially to pray for ALOVE (The Salvation Army’s youth branch) in the London North East Division.
(Read about ALOVE here and about the Salvation Army in London North East here )

Now you would think that a good Christian leader would leap in his car and head off to this mix of praise and worship, Bible reflection and good fervent prayer for the new generation of his church. But no. You see, I’m doing a writing course, I haven’t prepared for sermons on Sunday. I won’t have time tomorrow because I have to attend a football match (or church team is in the semis of a local league cup) and my nephew’s birthday party is in the evening. I’m just so busy, I’ve got to work tonight.

So what happens? I get started on my writing assignment, but hit a dead spot. I try to prepare a diary for our toddler group, I find my blog and feel guilty for writing nothing.

After !”£$ years as a Christian I still haven’t learned that there is usually more time to pray than I think there is, and the other stuff usually gets done, with extra energy and midnight oil if necessary.

Well, I’m off to bed now, ‘cos I’m going to get up early tomorrow to pray, or write, or preach to myself, or finish off pruning my apple tree, or tidy the office, or……

(and no, there is no numerical significant to the !”£$. I’m just not telling you how old I am!)

About prophetable

My wife Elizabeth and I were commissioned as Officers (ministers) in The Salvation Army in 1997, and have served in appointments in England and Scotland. Since July 2016 I have been working in The Salvation Army's Scotland Office as combined parliamentary and ecumenical representative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.